posted 05-10-99 01:37 PM ET
Wasn't
There
Fungus/Forest?!!Now that I pried a little open my well sealed complaints jar lid, with the Golden Age Bug return, I might be talking as well about the landing bug(?).
This undocumented "feature" allows you to move a Rover (or any other unit with >1 movement points) after you disembark it from a transport, even if the landing tile is covered with Fungus or Forest, which should eat up its remaining movement point(s).
I noticed it long time ago, but always forgot to mention it, and actually I sometimes forget it when I play, because it's against the stated rules. I couldn't find it anywhere in tha datalinks (leave alone the manual).
Apparently, the game only takes into account the rockiness of the landing tile: if it's rocky, it eats two unit's movement points, otherwise the landing counts only as a 1 point move. Thus if you land on fungus or forest with an underlying flat or rolling tile, you can still use the remaining movemen point of the rover.
Did I miss something?
MariOne